Concern about the "Add a new version of this CAD model" feature

Hi everyone,

I don’t want to be the bad guy here, but I have a Little concern about this new feature…

First I would like to state that I’m all about sharing my models and love being part of this community. And also that I think that this is a really cool feature, but I think model owners must have control on which models can be modified and what is displayed on their profile. I’ll elaborate:

What I’m concerned about is that if every model is available for “New Version upload” by 40.000+ people, things can easily get out of control. The alternate versions are fine when they improve the model or add cool features to it. But what if the version is not liked by the owner, or misrepresents the intended purpose of the design… That is impossible to control… And as the time passes, the model’s page would be filled with lot of alternate versions, great, good, bad, ugly... Do we want this in “ALL” our models??

What I’m trying to say is that the owners should have an option that allows them to decide if they want others to add alternate versions to the models. Like a check box in the upload page which you “tick” if you allow others to add versions… or something like that….

Please don’t get me wrong. I have several models uploaded and I wouldn’t mind having alternate versions of most of them. But there are a few designs that I would like to keep unchanged.

I’m not against this feature; in fact, I would have a lot of fun making versions of other models. But I’m aware that something that I would think is cool, is not necessarily so for somebody else. I would totally respect his desire (and right) to share his model only as he designed it.

This isn’t about jealousy or arrogance… Is about the right to control what is displayed in your profile… I think it’s just fair…

This is my opinion… Would be nice to hear other people’s thoughts…

MECA

Answer
 
Comments 2

3 Answers

I understand the concern MECA, the emergence of new functions. And agrees that it has both pluses and minuses. I do not know how it sounds in English, in Russian it sounds: "double-edged sword." So I think that it would be wise to give the author a choice. So he decided to give or withhold it allow users to upload the modified model.

 
Comments 1

Hi Jonathan,

I can see were you are coming from with some ones profile getting filled up with models that have been updated. I do think this would be a good option for the owner of the original model to have an option to allow them the power to have the updated model or not to have it on his/her profile. I would also like to say I have been messing around with this new feature today and I do think after you have uploaded and update to someone's model it also puts your updated model in your profile as well - I think it would be a great idea if GrabCAD could link your updated model in your profile back to the original model automatically so people would not just think it was your design in your profile but that you have updated an original model from someone else's profile.

 
Comments 0

Meca, we already discussed this and you were part of the conversation here: http://grabcad.com/questions/how-can-we-improve-collaboration-between-engineers-on-file-view. And I suggested what you're asking for here.
I understand what you're concerned about but Kristina already said it's just a test and the feature isn't fully operational yet.
I'm sure your thoughts will be taken into consideration and I agree with them.

 
Comments 3